About

SAG-AFTRA's National Convention is boldly going where it has never gone before: into cyberspace with an all virtual event, Oct. 15-18. Fittingly, this year's theme is "Virtual, Vital, Visionary," bringing elected convention delegates together from our 25 locals for a forum to shape the union and elect its top officers.

What to know for the 2021 SAG-AFTRA National Convention

*Reference the agenda below for event times.

  • A Delegate Orientation will be held in late September. Watch your email for more information. 
  • Only SAG-AFTRA 2021 elected delegates and officers are invited to attend the 2021 SAG-AFTRA National Convention.
  • The Resolution period ends on Thursday, September 16 at 11:59 pm PT.
  • Registration closes on Wednesday, October 13 at 5 pm PT/8 pm ET.
  • Join us for an Open House on Friday, October 15 from Noon-5 pm PT/3-8 pm ET.
  • A Virtual Mixer will be held on Friday, October 15 from 5-6 pm PT/8-9 pm ET.
  • The Convention Lobby will not be accessible until October 15, 2021.
  • Convention begins daily at 9 am PT/Noon ET.
  • For the optimum convention experience, use a desktop or laptop computer.
  • You will only be able to login from one device at a time.
  • Only the email you registered with will work for logging in.
  • Your password is your Registration ID (password) received in your registration confirmation email.
  • Delegate-only documents will be available at sagaftra.org/conventiondocuments.

Maximize Your Convention Experience

We’ll see you for our virtual National Convention starting on Friday, October 15, 2021. We’ve got lots of great experiences in store, so don’t miss a thing!

*Reference the agenda below for event times.

  • Explore our virtual expo where you can learn about resources and programs available to SAG-AFTRA members via chat, download documents, watch videos, and visit links from exhibitors.
  • Participate in voting on a number of resolutions.
  • The Honors and Tributes Committee recognizes a select few with the George Heller Memorial Award(s). Honoree(s) will be presented with gold SAG-AFTRA cards on Saturday, October 16.
  • Join us Sunday, October 17 for the American Scene Awards, celebrating employers who honor the importance of Diversity and Inclusion.
  • Dress to virtually impress! There will be a virtual photo booth.
  • Climb the leaderboard as you visit the expo, watch videos and more.

The photo booth is operated by Pixelated and you will be asked to accept their standard Terms of Use upon adding your photo to the gallery. SAG-AFTRA has negotiated language that limits Pixelated's use of SAG-AFTRA images to only be displayed at this event. By participating in the photo booth, you are agreeing to allow SAG-AFTRA to use your image for promotional purposes.

 

Agenda

Schedule subject to change.

*All events are in Pacific and Eastern time.

Friday, October 15
  Noon PT/3 p.m. ET

Convention Lobby Opens

via sagaftraconvention.org

  Noon PT/3 p.m. ET

Open House

via sagaftraconvention.org

  Noon PT/3 p.m. ET

Expo Opens

via Convention Lobby

  5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET

Virtual Mixer

via Zoom

Saturday, October 16
  9:00 am PT/Noon ET

Convention Kick Off

via Zoom

  9:30 am PT/12:30 pm ET

Executive Vice President Elections

via Zoom

  10:30 am PT/1:30 pm ET

Geographical Vice President Elections

via Zoom

  11:30 am PT/2:30 pm ET

Categorical Vice President Elections

via Zoom

  1:00 pm PT/4:00 pm ET

  1:00 pm PT/4:00 pm ET

Expo Opens

Visit the Convention Lobby

  2:00 pm PT/5:00 pm ET

Resolutions & Constitutional Amendments

via Zoom

  4:00 pm PT/7:00 pm ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Arizona-Utah, Colorado, Hawaii, Houston-Austin

  4:30 pm PT/7:30 pm ET

George Heller Memorial Awards

via Zoom

Sunday, October 17
  8:00 am PT/11:00 am ET

Expo Opens

 via Convention Lobby

  8:30 am PT/11:30 am ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Atlanta, Miami, New York, San Francisco-Northern California,  Washington-Mid Atlantic

  9:00 am PT/Noon ET

National Executive Director Report and Q&A

via Zoom

  10:30 am PT/1:30 pm ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Nashville, Nevada, New Mexico, Seattle

  11:00 am PT/2:00 pm ET

Resolutions

via Zoom

  1:00 pm PT/4:00 pm ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Dallas-Fort Worth, Michigan, Missouri Valley, New Orleans

  1:30 pm PT/4:30 pm ET

Resolutions

via Zoom

  4:00 pm PT/7:00 pm ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Ohio-Pittsburgh, Portland, San Diego, Twin Cities

  4:30 pm PT/7:30 pm ET

American Scene Awards
Monday, October 18
  8:00 am PT/11 am ET

Expo Opens

Visit the Lobby

  8:30 am PT/11:30 am ET

BREAK

Local Delegation Photos: Chicago, Los Angeles, New England, Philadelphia

  9:00 am PT/Noon ET

Resolutions

via Zoom

  10:00 am PT/1:00 pm ET

Secretary-Treasurer Report

via Zoom

  10:30 am PT/1:30 pm ET

Executive Vice President Report

via Zoom

  11:00 am PT/2:00 pm ET

President Report

via Zoom

  Noon PT/3:00 pm ET

Adjournment

via Zoom

  1:00 pm PT/4:00 pm ET

Local Presidents Forum

Open to Local President's Only

  2:00 pm PT/5:00 pm ET

Committee of Locals Meeting

Open to Committee members, Designated Alternates, Local Presidents and Authorized Staff Only

 

Keynote Speaker

AFL-CIO President Liz Shuler

SAG-AFTRA is proud to welcome AFL-CIO President Liz Shuler as our keynote speaker for SAG-AFTRA's national convention.

Shuler is the first woman elected to lead the federation and assumed the role in August 2021, after the death of Richard Trumka. In her previous role as AFL-CIO’s secretary-treasurer, she has worked with SAG-AFTRA as a valuable ally throughout the years.

A visionary leader and longtime trade unionist, Shuler believes the labor movement is the single most powerful vehicle for progress and that unions are a central force in leading lasting societal transformations. She is committed to busting myths about labor, leveraging the labor movement’s diversity for innovative approaches to social justice and making the benefits of a union voice on the job available to working people everywhere.

Partners

Media Partners